The Schengen Agreement, a definition


An agreement signed in 1985 in Schengen, Luxembourg, to abolish all passport and other border checks on people travelling between France, Germany, Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. Now, almost every EU country — apart from Ireland, the UK, Bulgaria, Cyprus and Romania — has signed up to this agreement, along with non-EU countries Norway, Switzerland and Iceland, and is part of what’s called the Schengen area.